USA Finance

Oct 11 2017

Ohio Assault Laws – OH Assault Penalites #cincinnati #criminal #lawyers


Ohio Assault Laws

Any assault charge in Ohio, even simple assault is a serious offense with serious penalties, Ohio criminal courts do not take assault offenders lightly. Regardless of what got you into this situation, we can help. We know what you are up against and want to be on your side.

Everyone knows that assault refers to a fight. But did you know that an assault can occur without any contact? Were you also aware that there are legitimate legal defenses to assault? A knowledgeable attorney is a vital asset when facing charges of this magnitude.

Whether you got into a fight with a friend after having some drinks or were simply caught defending yourself against an attack, the assault charges you are facing are likely causing you extreme stress and possibly confusion.

We have handled numerous assault cases in Ohio criminal courts and want to handle yours. Our experienced team is genuinely interested in learning the specifics of your case. We know that all cases are different and want to know what led to your assault charge.

Contact us for a consultation to find out for yourself what we can to do help you and defend your rights in court.

Simple Assault Laws Penalties

Assault, also referred to as simple assault, is considered a misdemeanor in most circumstances. Assault can be committed by:

  • Knowingly causing or attempting to cause physical harm to another or to another s unborn.
  • Recklessly causing serious physical harm to another or to another s unborn.

Does this mean I can be charged with assault for something that happened on accident?

Yes. If you acted recklessly and it led to serious physical harm of someone then you can be charged and potentially found guilty of this offense. For instance, if you are drinking and at a party when you decide to juggle knives, your actions could be considered reckless, particularly if you do not know how to juggle. If your juggling leads to the injury of someone, even unintentional, you can be charged with assault.

In most cases assault is considered a first degree misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and fines up to $1,000.

Negligent Assault Laws Penalties

Negligent assault is one that is committed without intent. To be negligent means that through your neglect, harm was done. For instance, if you are a professional knife juggler and decide to juggle knives but neglect to take time to move back from your audience knowing the risk exists for a knife to go awry you are being negligent. If the juggling act ends in harm to someone, you could be charged with negligent assault.

According to the law, negligent assault occurs when physical harm is caused through the negligent use of a deadly weapon. A common example of negligent assault is hunting accidents.

Negligent assault is considered a 3 rd degree misdemeanor and is punishable by jail time up to 60 days and fines up to $500.

Ohio Felony Assault Laws Penalties

Typically a second degree felony, felonious assault can be committed in a few different ways. If there is probable cause (or a good reason to believe) that you committed any of the following, you may be charged with this offense:

  • Cause serious harm to someone or an unborn child, or
  • Cause or attempt to cause harm through the use of a deadly weapon.

A second degree felony typically carries a potential sentence of 2-8 years in prison and fines up to $20,000. A very serious penalty for what the courts consider a very serious crime.

Aggravated Assault Laws Penalties

Slightly less severe than felonious assault, aggravated assault is very similarly written in Ohio Laws. The difference between a felonious assault and an aggravated assault is the manner in which they are committed.

Aggravated assault is when you:

  • Cause serious harm to someone or an unborn child, or
  • Cause or attempt to cause harm through the use of a deadly weapon

And does this while in under the influence of sudden passion or in a sudden fit of rage .

The court recognizes that when in an extreme rage or while feeling high levels of passion, a person may not act rationally. For this reason, when an assault is committed in this heightened state, it is punished less severely.

Under Ohio law, aggravated assault is a 4th degree felony and is punishable by a prison term of 18 months to 6 years and fines of up to $5,000.

Charged with Assault in Ohio? Get a Free Criminal Case Legal Evaluation

Facing assault charges in Ohio is very stressful and can be quite frightening. When you are up against charges like this it is important to trust your choice in attorneys. Contact us for a consultation on your assault case today and see why so many others have put their trust in us.

The consultation is free with no obligation. You will learn possible defense strategies, and exactly how we think we can help you.

Free Legal Consultation

Contact our attorneys for a free legal case evaluation on any criminal charge by calling:

(888) 260-8974

Receive our free legal defense consultation and case evaluation. We’ll explain what you are facing in plain language, and tell you how we can help.

Complete this Form

Written by admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *