Cheap Insurance Virginia
Savvy drivers take the time to explore all the options for cheap insurance Virginia has available. For a state its size, Virgina has surprisingly low rates, due in part to the number of companies competing for business.
There are over 7.7 million registered vehicles in the state of Virgina as of 2012, 5.7 million licensed drivers, and 123,579 reported traffic accidents.
Around 11% of drivers in Virginia are uninsured. Average annual premiums for auto insurance hover around $1,200 (or $100/month), which is lower than the national average.
Virginia State Car Insurance Requirements
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident (two or more persons)
- $20,000 per accident for property damage
- Optionally, drivers can pay a $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee to the DMV, which does NOT provide insurance, but allows you to drive an uninsured vehicle AT YOUR OWN RISK.
More information on insurance requirements can be found at the Virgina DMV page.
Did you know?
- Virginia is nicknamed Old Dominion because it was once the former dominion of the English Crown.
- Also known as the Mother of Presidents because it has the highest number of U.S. presidents born in the state.
- Virginia is home to the headquarters of the Department of Defense, and the CIA.
- The largest industries in the state are local and federal government, military, farming, and business. The unemployment rate is among the lowest in the nation, at 5.2% (as of April 2013)
- Police radar detectors are illegal in the state.
- Drivers must honk their horn while passing other vehicles.
- No animal may be hunted on Sunday, with the exception of raccoons, which may be hunted until 2:00 AM.
Department of Motor Vehicles.
The Virginia DMV s website can be found here, and offers many online services, such as registration and license renewal, downloadable forms, address changes, and practice exams. There is also a tab where you can find your local office if you prefer in-person service.
According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving, there were 211 drunk driving fatalities in 2012 (representing 27% of all total traffic deaths), with 8,777 alcohol related crashes.
Like many states, Virgina law requires ignition interlock devices for all convicted drunk drivers (as of 2012).
First time offenders will face the following penalties:
- Mandatory, minimum fine of $250.
- Driver s license revocation for one year.
- Possible ignition interlock device (mandatory as of 2012)
- Possible Alcohol Safety Action Program
- DUI offenses are also reported to the Central Criminal Records Exchange.
Further violations can result in felony charges, thousands of dollars in fines, and complete loss of drivers license. More information can be found here.
The Bottom Line
Most of Virginia s workers are employed by the defense industry in some way (900,000 jobs), but the state also has a high concentration of tech workers. As this latter industry grows, the state s population is expected to rise as more and more professionals flock to the major cities. This can have an effect on auto insurance rates (especially in urban areas) so most insurance professionals recommend you re-shop your rates at least twice a year.
If it s that time of year for you, give us a call at the number above. A licensed professional can look over your policy, and recommend ways to save money. Or, if you prefer local help, head to one of our city pages below for a list of local agents!